Thursday, November 8, 2012



Port Blair, Oct 12/--/ The Echo of India’s Sr. Correspondent, Ms Razia Begum has brought laurels to the Islands by being adjudged one of the top eleven journalists in the country by the Press Council of India. She figured among eleven journalists chosen for the first ever 'National Awards for Excellence in Journalism' instituted by the PCI, which was declared on Thursday.
Ms Begum got the Certificate of Excellence with a cash prize of Rs. 25, 000/- and citation for creating awareness on women related issues in the face of adversities and difficulties. The award will be conferred to her by former chief justice of India, M N Venkatachaliah on November 16, 2012 at New Delhi on the occasion of National Press Day.

While, no entry could qualify for the top honour Raja Ram Mohan Roy Award, carrying cash award of Rs. One lakh, Damyanti Datta of ‘India Today’ New Delhi and Priyanka Dubey of ‘Tehelka’, New Delhi have been given Certificate of Excellence for Investigative Journalism in this category. They will received Rs 25,000 each. R Sambhan of ‘Deshabhimani’, Thiruvananthapuram has been chosen for the main award for Rural Journalism, which carries Rs. 50,000 in cash apart from citation.

Rajesh Parshuram Joshte of ‘Lokmat’, Ratnagiri has bagged the top honour ‘Stree Shakti’ Award which carries Rs. 50,000 in cash for reporting on women's issues.The Award for photojournalism has gone to three persons:-- Biplab Banerjee of ‘The Asian Age’, New Delhi, Lattur Rathinam Shankar of ‘The Times of India’, Chennai and Partha Paul of ‘The Indian Express’, Kolkata. They have been selected for the honour for single news picture category for photographs remarkable for mirroring poignant scenes and harsh realities of life. They will each receive a cash award of Rs. 50,000/-. Kamal Kishore, photo-journalist, ‘PTI’, New Delhi bagged Certificate of Excellence for his photograph of farmers at work. The Certificate comes
with a cash prize of Rs. 25, 000/-. 

In photo feature category, Sanjoy Ghosh of the ‘The Telegraph’, Kolkata has been selected for his photo-story on the capital of the Northern Province of Sri Lanka, Jaffna reflecting the positivity since the end of Civil War in 2009. This award will fetch him a purse of Rs. 50, 000/. Zishaan Akbar Latif, freelancer, Mumbai has been chosen for Certificate of Excellence carrying cash prize of Rs. 25, 000/- for his photo-story capturing moments from the life of a lonely old person.

The awardees were chosen by a jury comprising of Dr. S.Y. Quraishi, Former Chief Election Commissioner of India, Mr Harsh Mander, IAS, Social Activist and Writer, Mr Vinod Sharma, Political Editor, Hindustan Times, and Members of the Press Council of India i.e. Mr Neeraj Bajpai, UNI, Mr Sondeep Shankar, Photo-journalist, Mr Shravan Garg, Nai Duniya, Mr K.S.S. Murthy, Malayala Manorama, Mr Rajeev Sabade, UGC, Mr Kalyan Barooah, Assam Tribune, and Mr Arun Kumar, Times of India, Patna. The Press Council of India entrusted with the responsibility of encouraging the media to observe the principle of Freedom with Responsibility while perusing its duties, has instituted these awards to encourage ethical and responsible journalism.

No comments:

Post a Comment